Honours and Awards

Isabelle Anguelovski
  • 10 good ideas to change the world” Prize. Barcelona Sostenible. City of Barcelona. (shared with Dr Filka Sekulova and Dr Francesc Baró)
Jordi Arbiol
  • FWO Commemorative Medal (Flanders Research Foundation)
Pablo Ballester
  • Elected Fellow of the European Academy of Sciences (EurASc)
Eduard Batlle
  • Premio Rei Jaume I en Investigación Médica 2021
Mario Cáceres
  • BioRad Positive Droplet Award on Copy Number Variation
Miguel Ángel Cau
  • 2021-2025. Director of the Institut of Archaeology of the University of Barcelona (IAUB)
Rebekah Clements
  • Member of the AcademiaNet – Expert Database of Outstanding Female Academics
Esteve Corbera
  • Highly Cited Researcher 2021, Clarivate
Pia Cosma
  • European Innovation Council (EIC) National Champion
Xavier Costa
  • NEC’s Excellent Inventor Award
Josep Dalmau
  • Highly Cited Researcher 2021, Clarivate
Xaveir de la Cruz
  • Honorary member of the Sociedad Española de Bioinformática y Biología Computacional
Margarita Díaz-Andreu
  • Premio Nacional de Investigación 2021, Ramón Menéndez Pidal
Francisco J. Doblas
  • Member of the Reial Acadèmia de Ciències i Arts de Barcelona
Inés Domingo
  • Youniversal Award 2020 of the Global Fine Arts Award: Exhibition Art Primer. Artistes de la Prehistòria (MAC, Barcelona)
Majid Ebrahim-Zadeh
  • OSA David Richardson Medal
  • IEEE Senior Member
Jan Eeckhout
  • Vice President, European Economic Association
Manel Esteller
  • Award Dr. Fernández-Cruz Memorial Foundation
  • Elected Fellow of the European Academy of Sciences
  • Award E-nnova Health in Big Data and Artificial Intelligence
  • Elected Member of the Academia Europaea (MAE)
  • International Member of American Society of Hematology (ASH)
  • Highly Cited Researcher 2021, Clarivate
Elena Galea
  • Elected Member Academia Europaea 2021
María García Parajo
  • Emmy Noether Laurate, European Physical Society, Winter 2020
Javier García de Abajo
  • Highly Cited Researcher 2021, Clarivate
David Irving
  • Fellow of the Royal Historical Society
Tess Knighton
  • Jack Westrup Prize, Music & Letters (OUP)
Maciej Lewenstein
  • Highly Cited Researcher 2021, Clarivate
  • Corresponding Member of the Polska Akademia Umiejętności
Josep Maria Llovet
  • Highly Cited Researcher 2021, Clarivate
Núria López Bigas
  • ISCB Distinguished Fellow 2021
Gábor Lugosi
  • Blackwell lecturer. Distinction awarded by the Institute of Mathematical Statistics
Marc Martí-Renom
  • Vice President of the Catalan Society of Biology
Ruben Martin Romo
  • Forbes top50 most awarded spaniards
Paolo Melchiorre
  • Pedler Award of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
Arben Merkoçi
  • ACS Nano Championship Award 2021
Núria Montserrat Pulido
  • Premi Nacional de Recerca al Talent Jove”, Generalitat de Catalunya and FCRi
Pura Muñoz-Cánoves
  • National Award Santiago Ramón y Cajal 2021
Silvia Muro
  • Elected and inducted to the College of Fellows of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE). March 2021
Josep Nogués
  • IAAM Medal in recognition for his contribution to “Nanomaterials – Physics, Chemistry and Biology” by the by International Association of Advanced Materials
Maria Petrova
  • AEJ: Applied Economics Best Paper Award (2018-2020)
Jordi Poater
  • Member of the Foro “Teófilo Hernando” for young resarchers of the Royal National Academy of Medicine of Spain in recognition of a scientific career
Natasa Przulj
  • Barcelona Ambassador, Barcelona City Council, appointed in 2021. The Barcelona City Brand for international economic promotion strategy
Josep Quer
  • 2021-22 Fellow at the Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities and Social Sciences (NIAS)
  • Full member (‘membre numerari’) of the Philological Section of the Institut d’Estudis Catalans
Victoria Reyes García
  • Member of the National Academy of Sciences, USA
Xavier Ros Oton
  • Stampacchia Gold Medal
  • Forbes Top 50 Awarded Spaniards
Joan Seoane
  • PFIZER Foundation – Scientific Innovation Award for Young Researchers to Laura Escudero for our article Escudero et al. 2020
Gustavo Slafer
  • Honorary Professor, School of Biosciences, University of Nottingham, UK
  • Profesor Honorario, Facultad de Agronomía, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Fellow of the Crop Science Society of America
Jordi Sort
  • Duran Farell Award 2020 for Technological Research
  • MMM Advisory Committee Member (MMM AdCom) (from the American Institute of Physics)
Thomas Surrey
  • Elected “ASCB Fellow”- Amercian Society for Cell Biology
Sergey Tikhonov
  • Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel research prize by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
Xavier Trepat
  • Premio Constantes y Vitales (A3Media)
Juan Valcárcel
  • Outstanding Service Award of the RNA Society
Jeroen van den Bergh
  • Ranked as the highest social scientist from Spain on “Reuters Hot List” of 1000 world’s top climate scientists
Licia Verde
  • Premio Rei Jaume I de investigacion basica 2021
Fernando Vidal
  • Eric T. Carlson Award “in recognition of extraordinary scholarship in the history of the human sciences”