Skip to main content
Dan López de Sa

Dan López de Sa

Universitat de Barcelona


I am ICREA Research Professor at the Departament de Filosofia of the Universitat de Barcelona. I did my PhD in Barcelona (visiting ANU for a short while). I was Arché Postdoc in St Andrews (2004-06), Fullbright-GenCat Postdoc at NYU (2006-07), ICREA Researcher (2007-12) and then RyC (2012-13). I have published papers in Analysis, Erkenntnis, Mind, Noûs, Philosophers' Imprint, Philosophical Studies, Proceedings of the Aristotelian Society, and Synthèse, among others.

Research interests

I work on matters issuing from words -vagueness, contextualism/relativism, rigidity- and issues where words don’t really matter (much) -truthmaking, grounding, time, disagreement, values-. In between, I have an increasing interest in topics around gender, sex, and sexualities.

Selected publications

– Horden, John, & López de Sa, Dan (2021): “Groups as pluralities“, Synthese 198, pp. 10237–10271.

Selected research activities

  • Principal investigator of Spanish Government Research Project “SM—Social Metaphysics” (PGC2018-094563-B-I00, 2019-22)
  • Associate Editor of Teorema for “Metaphysics”
  • Member of the “network of excellence” (Consolider) “Facts and Thoughts in Perspective: New Issues” (FFI2016-81858-REDC, 2017-20), the research group  “Law & Philosophy” (AGAUR 2017 SGR 823), and the interuniversity BIAP–Barcelona Institute of Analytic Philosophy (UB, UPF, UdG)
  • Member of the Societat Catalana de Filosofia, the Sociedad Española de Filosofia Analítica, the European Society of Analytic Philosophy, the American Philosophical Association, and the International Social Ontology Society.
  • In 2021, I convened the weekly SM—Seminar In Metaphysics and co-convened the weekly reading groups on social institutions with JJ Moreso (UPF) and on real definitions with B Epstein (Tufts).
  • Talks:
  • I was the primary or sole supervisor of four PhD students at Universitat de Barcelona: Andjelika Eissing-Patenova (2021-present), Jósean Lozano Gendreau (2020-present), Giulio Pietroiusti (2017-present), and Iñigo Valero (2017-present),

ICREA Memoir 2021